Computer Science

Key Stage 3 – Year 7, 8 and 9

Year 7 and 8 are currently taught Computer Science as part of iLearn. Year 9 currently has 1 lesson per fortnight. Topics covered are:

  • Under the hood of a computer
  • Think like a computer scientist
  • Drawing and manipulating shapes
  • Creating an animation
  • The foundations of computing
  • How the web works
  • Web creation from the ground up
  • Designing for the human computer interface
  • Representing photographs and drawings
  • Programming input output processing and storage

Key Stage 4 – Year 10 and 11

Students have a choice of three different courses:

  • GCSE Computer Science
  • BTEC L2 Software Specialist
  • BTEC L2 Systems Development

Key Stage 5

Students can choose to study from two different courses:

  • Computing AS and A2
  • BTEC L2 Software Specialist