A former student who survived a life-threatening infection received the Headteacher’s Award at our January presentation evening.

Chris Wilkinson was among scores of students who received recognition for their dedication and hard work.

The 20-year-old had to take seven months off school after contracting the infection while undergoing a routine operation to remove an in-growing hair in his back in January 2014.

Chris should have taken his A-levels in 2014 but picked up his results in September 2015 instead, achieving an A* in English Literature, a B in History and a C in Religious Education.

MP Amanda Solloway was guest of honour at the event and she presented The Rita Gray Prize for Demonstrating Outstanding Personal Qualities and Determination to Rebecca Salt.

Other award winners included Benjamin Chapman-Lilley, Daniel McGrath, Isabelle Vasko, Callum Bucklow, Stephanie Andrews, Kayleigh Bennett, Freya Battson and Joe Smith.

Unfortunately we can’t mention everyone who was recognised but we would like to say a massive well done to all of you! 


Jan awards Kevin Gritton and Chris WilkinsonJan awards - Maxine Harrison and Stephanie AndrewsJan awards Isabelle Vasko and Margaret Des Forges